Telangana Elections – Congress Stuns BRS, Emerges as Single Largest Party in Telangana

Congress Stuns BRS, Emerges as Single Largest Party in Telangana

The Telangana elections was a close contest between the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), led by Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao, and the Indian National Congress (INC), led by Revanth Reddy. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), and other smaller parties also participated in the fray.

According to the Election Commission of India, the voter turnout was 71.34%, slightly lower than the 73.7% recorded in 2018.

A total of 2,290 candidates contested for 119 seats, with the highest number of candidates in L. B. Nagar and the lowest in Banswada and Narayanpet.

The counting of votes began at 8 am today and the final results were declared by 5 pm.

You can see the final constituency-wise results map here You can also find out the performance of the key candidates here

Telangana Elections 2023

The final tally of the seats is as follows:

– INC+: 63 seats

– BRS: 41 seats

– BJP+: 10 seats

– AIMIM: 5 seats

The Congress has emerged as the single largest party, winning 63 seats, just three short of the majority mark of 66.

The BRS, which was seeking a third consecutive term in power, suffered a major setback, winning only 41 seats.

The BJP, which was trying to emerge as a viable alternative to the BRS, improved its tally from one seat in 2018 to 10 seats in 2023. The AIMIM, which has a strong base among the Muslim voters, retained five seats.

Some of the prominent winners are Revanth Reddy from Kodangal, Akbaruddin Owaisi from Chandrayangutta, and G. Kishan Reddy from Amberpet.

Some of the prominent losers are K. Chandrashekar Rao from Kamareddy and Gajwel, R. S. Praveen Kumar from Banswada, and N. Shankar Goud from L. B. Nagar.

The Telangana elections results have significant implications for the state and national politics. The Congress has staged a comeback in the state after a dismal performance in the 2018 and 2019 elections.

The BRS has lost its grip on the state and will have to introspect on the reasons for its defeat. The BJP has made inroads in the state and will try to consolidate its position in the future.

The AIMIM has maintained its status quo and will continue to play a key role in the state politics.

We will keep you updated with the latest developments and reactions from the political parties and leaders. Stay tuned for more updates and analysis.

Support us for more updates

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *